The State-wise list of 65 Lighthouses earmarked for development of tourism on PPP mode is annexed and the State-wise summary is listed below:

S.No. Name of the State No. of Lighthouses
1. Gujarat 13
2. Tamil Nadu 11
3. Kerala 10
4. Andhra Pradesh* 09
5. Maharashtra 05
6. Karnataka 05
7. Odisha 05
8. West Bengal 03
9. Andaman & Nicobar Islands 02
10. Lakshadweep Islands 01
11 Goa 01
* One Lighthouse viz. Dolphin Nose Lighthouse has been dropped due to security reasons.


The Coastal Regulation Zone (CRZ) mapping of the 10 Lighthouses earmarked for development of tourism on PPP mode in the State of Kerala has been completed. Out of these 10 lighthouses, CRZ clearances for six (06) lighthouses including Kannur Lighthouse have been initiated. The remaining four (04) lighthouses fall under “No Development Zone” (NDZ), which do not permit construction of permanent structures. Completion of the projects is scheduled in two years from the date of obtaining CRZ clearances and approval of the Department of Town and Country Planning.

11 Private stakeholders expressed their interest for undertaking the lighthouse tourism projects in Kerala. The details are as under:

S.No. Details of the Private Stakeholders
1. M/s Impresario, Kochi, Kerala
2. M/s Beach Resort, Kannur, Kerala
3. M/s Mascat Beach Resort, Kannur, Kerala
4. M/s Sagara Holiday Resorts, Trivandrum, Kerala
5. M/s D Fort, Thangassery, Kollam, Kerala
6. M/s Grant Thornton, Bangalore, Karnataka
7. M/s Sai Sadguru Power Projects, Hyderabad, Telangana
8. M/s Jll, Gurgaon, Haryana
9. M/s Swami Shipping & Hospitality Pvt. Ltd., Surat, Gujarat
10. M/s Pench Jungle Resorts, New Delhi
11. M/s Lalloji & Sons, Ahmedabad, Gujarat


State-wise list of 65 lighthouses earmarked for development of tourism on PPP Mode

Sl.No State Name of Lighthouse
i Gujarat
  1. Mandvi Lighthouse
  2. Rawalpir Lighthouse
  3. Samiyani Lighthouse
  4. Okha Lighthouse
  5. Kachhigarh Lighthouse
  6. Porbandar Lighthouse
  7. Mangrol Lighthouse
  8. Jaffrabad Lighthouse
  9. Jegri Lighthouse
  10. Alang Lighthouse
  11. Piram Island Lighthouse
  12. Hazira Lighthouse
  13. Valsad Khadi Lighthouse
ii Tamil Nadu
  1. Kanniyakumari Lighthouse
  2. KuthankuliIghthouse
  3. Manappad Lighthouse
  4. Kilakkarai Lighthouse
  5. Dhanuskodi Lighthouse
  6. Pamban Lighthouse
  7. Mallipattinam Lighthouse
  8. Kodikkarai Lighthouse
  9. Nagapattinam Lighthouse
  10. Poompohar Lighthouse
  11. Pulicat Lighthouse
iii Kerala
  1. Kannur Lighthouse
  2. Ponnani Lighthouse
  3. Chetwai Lighthouse
  4. Vypin Lighthouse
  5. Manakkodam Lighthouse
  6. Alappuzha Lighthouse
  7. Valiyazhikkal Lighthouse
  8. ThangesseriPoint Lighthouse
  9. Anjengo Lighthouse
  10. Vizhinjam Lighthouse
iv Andhra Pradesh*
  1. Ramayapatnam Lighthouse
  2. Machilipatnam Lighthouse
  3. Antervedi Lighthouse
  4. Sacramento Lighthouse
  5. Vakalpudi Lighthouse
  6. Santapalli Lighthouse
  7. Kalingapatnam Lighthouse
  8. Baruva Lighthouse
  9. Dolphin Nose Lighthouse
v Maharashtra
  1. Uttan Point Lighthouse
  2. Korlai Fort Lighthouse
  3. Jaigarh Lighthouse
  4. Ratnagiri Lighthouse
  5.  Vengurla Point Lighthouse
vi Karnataka
  1. Oyster Rock Lighthouse
  2. Tadri Lighthouse
  3. Bhatkal Lighthouse
  4. Kaup Lighthouse
  5. Surathkal Lighthouse
vii Odisha
  1. Gopalpur Lighthouse
  2. Puri Lighthouse
  3. Chandrabhaga Lighthouse
  4. Paradip Lighthouse
  5. False Point Lighthouse
viii West Bengal
  1. Tajpur Lighthouse
  2. Dariyapur Lighthouse
  3. Sagar Island Lighthouse
ix Andaman & Nicobar Islands
  1. North Point Lighthouse
  2. Port Cornwallis Lighthouse
x Lakshadweep Islands
  1.   Minicoy Lighthouse
xi             Goa
  1.  Aguada Lighthouse
* One Lighthouse viz. Dolphin Nose Lighthouse has been dropped due to security reasons.

This information was given by the Union Minister for Ports, Shipping and Waterways, Shri Sarbananda Sonowal in a written reply to the Lok Sabha.

About IIPnews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Spices Board establishes eight crop specific Spices Parks across the country

Spices Board has established eight crop specific Spices Parks across the country, the Minister of ...

Centre takes proactive steps to promote the GI tagged products in the global market

The Government has taken several proactive steps to promote the GI tagged products in the ...

Centre formulates ‘Action Plan for Champion Sectors in Services’ to give focused attention to 12 identified Champion Services Sectors

Centre has formulated ‘Action Plan for Champion Sectors in Services’ to give focused attention to ...

Rs. 477.25 crore approved to 133 incubators under the Startup India Seed Fund Scheme (SISFS)

The Startup India Seed Fund Scheme (SISFS), a flagship scheme under Startup India initiative has ...

Union Budget to give a boost to exports and manufacturing

Union Budget 2023-24 has a slew of measures to give boost to exports and help ...


Investments in infrastructure and Productive capacity have a large multiplier impact on growth and employment” said ...


India to witness GDP growth of 6.0 per cent to 6.8 per cent in 2023-24, ...

Data on Employment in MSMEs

As per Udyam registration portal, the number of persons employed in the MSMEs which are ...

Contribution of MSMEs and Cottage Industry to GDP

As per the information received from Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, the share of ...

Details of Fund Collected Under District Mineral Foundation by Different States

The Central Government under Section 20A of the MMDR Act has issued directions and circulated ...

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com